DSBC – Dynamics of Complex Biomolecular Systems


group sponsored by
logo CED2

Home > Research topics

Research topics in DSBC group

Research activity in the DSBC group is mainly involved in physical organic chemistry and analytical chemistry, mostly of α-amino acids, (poly)peptides and their derivatives. We are especially interested in both (i) a physico-chemical approach of the reactivity of biomolecules and/or their precursors or derivatives, and (ii) the development of innovating separative science methodologies applying to polymers. DSBC research topics are organised according to four major directions, hereafter detailed.


1. Prebiotic chemistry, systems chemistry and the emergence of life

Topic currently granted by the Agence Nationale de la Recherche through the PeptiSystems project (ANR-14-CE33-0020, 2014–2019).

The transition towards the living state is studied through a dynamic approach based on the application of physicochemical principles. The Darwinian description of biological evolution can thus be integrated into a wider view starting from far-from-equilibrium chemical systems including replicators or autocatalytic loops (Systems chemistry). We are involved in the study of thermodynamic constraints governing these dissipative systems capable of giving rise to emergent properties. Concerning the experimental aspect, our team focuses its interest on the chemistry of amino acids with the aim of demonstrating how certain properties (e.g. homochirality) can be selected by the transformation of high-energy derivatives (α-amino acid N-carboxyanhydrides (NCAs) or 5(4H)-oxazolones for instance). Their interaction with nucleotides is susceptible of generating chemical intermediates closely related to the biochemical protein synthetic pathways and then likely to have been involved in the emergence of translation.

Keywords:

Prebiotic chemistry ; α-Amino acids ; Peptides ; Amino acid N-carboxyanhydrides ; 5(4H)-Oxazolones ; Peptides/nucleotides co-evolution ; Emergence of homochirality ; Origin of life ; Evolution ; Protométabolism ; Energy sources ; Dynamic kinetic stability ; Complexification

People involved:

Permanent staff: Robert Pascal (CNRS Senior Scientist / DR), Laurent Boiteau (CNRS Associate Scientist / CR), Jean-Christophe Rossi (UM Associate Professor / MCF)
Temporary staff: Ziwei Liu (Simons Foundation Postdoctoral fellow), Ghinwa Ajram (PhD Student / ANR)

Read more…


2. Capillary electrokinetic separation methods

This research topic deals with the methodological development of the different modes of capillary electrophoresis (free solution, gel, micellar electrochromatography, isoelectric focusing, isotachophoresis, frontal analysis, and bidimensional) and Taylor dispersion analysis. Our research is especially aiming the development of new methodologies for the physicochemical characterization of biopolymers, polyelectrolytes, nanoparticles and microorganisms (bacteria). Among others, the following physicochemical characteristics are studied: effective charge, counter-ion condensation rate, hydrodynamic radius, molar mass, hydrophobicity (log P), isoelectric point, stoichiometry and binding constant of complexation.

Keywords:

Capillary electrophoresis ; Taylor dispersion analysis ; Physicochemical characterisation ; (bio)Polymers ; Polyelectrolytes ; Proteins ; Nanoparticles ; Effective charge ; Counter-ion condensation ; Hydrodynamic radius ; Electrophoretic mobility.

People involved:

Permanent staff: Hervé Cottet (UM Professor), Joseph Chamieh (UM Associate Professor / MCF), Laurent Leclercq (CNRS Associate Scientist / CR), Isabelle Desvignes (UM Associate Professor / MCF), Jean-Philippe Biron (CNRS Technical Engineer / IE), Philippe Gonzalez (CNRS Assistant Engineer / AI)
Temporary staff: Nesrine Ouadah (PhD Student / L’Oréal), Phoonthawee ‘Kaitong’ Saetear (post-doctoral associate), Mohamed El Amine Kribeche (post-doc / ATER ENSCM), Charly Renard (PhD Student / MESR), Phu Cao Ngoc (PhD Student / Viêtnam gov. fellowship),


3. Physicochemical study of polyelectrolyte complexes

This research topic deals with the physicochemical study of polyelectrolyte complex formation and their use for biomedical, pharmaceutical or analytical applications. One of our main objectives aims at investigating the influence of physicochemical parameters (ionic strength, pH, nature, charge density and architecture of the polyelectrolyte) on the formation of polyelectrolyte complexes (size, surface charge, stoichiometry of the complex, selectivity in molar mass, ionic strength of complex dissociation). We are also investigating the relationship between the binding constant of oppositely charged polyelectrolyte, the physicochemical characteristics of interacting (polymer) partners, and the ionic strength of the medium.

Keywords:

Polyelectrolyte complexes ; Coacervates ; Association constants ; Polyplexes ; Physical chemistry.

People involved:

Permanent staff: Laurent Leclercq (CNRS Associate Scientist / CR), Hervé Cottet (UM Professor), Joseph Chamieh (UM Associate Professor / MCF), Philippe Gonzalez (CNRS Assistant Engineer / AI)
Temporary staff: Mohamed El Amine Kribeche (post-doc / ATER ENSCM), Feriel Lounis (PhD Student / Alger. excel. fellowship)


4. Synthetic polypeptides, biomimetic and supramolecular chemistry

This topic is dedicated to peptides and peptide polymers and their physical chemistry in water; having been recently associated with the molecular recognition approach, it extends and widens a historical interest of the group, namely the elaboration of synthetic processes with a low environmental impact in the chemistries of α-amino acids and peptides. This topic is aimed at elaborating molecules or synthetic macromolecules, and more specifically branched (DGL: dendgrigraft of (poly)lysine) or cyclic polypeptides involving natural or non natural amino acids. Through the chemical functionalization of these scaffolds and the study of their interaction with substrates of biological interest, we target applications in the fields of e.g. ion exchange, reversible sequestration of transition metal ions, organocatalysis, drug delivery, biosensors for the detection of biomarkers of diseases… Other investigations in relationship with this topic involve the study of catalytic efficiency in water (intramolecular general-acid base catalysis).

Keywords:

Peptides ; Polypeptides ; Chemistry in water ; Sustainable development ; Non-covalent interactions ; Host-guest complexes ; Biosensors ; Sequestrating agents ; Organocatalysis.

People involved:

Permanent staff: Jean-Christophe Rossi (UM Associate Professor / MCF), Robert Pascal (CNRS Senior Scientist / DR), Laurent Boiteau (CNRS Associate Scientist / CR)
Temporary staff:

DSBC – Dynamique des Systèmes Biomoléculaires Complexes


équipe labellisée
logo Carnot ChimieBalardCIRIMat

Accueil du site > Thèmes de recherche

Thèmes de recherche de l’équipe DSBC

Les activités de recherche de l’équipe DSBC se développent principalement dans les domaines de la physico-chimie organique et de la chimie analytique, concernant en particulier les acides α-aminés, (poly)peptides et leurs dérivés. Nous privilégions particulièrement (i) une approche physicochimique de la réactivité des biomolécules, de leurs précurseurs et de leur dérivés, et (ii) le développement de méthodologies innovantes dans les sciences séparatives pour les polymères. Les thématiques de recherche de l’équipe sont actuellement organisées selon quatre axes principaux, présentés ci-après.


1. Chimie prébiotique, chimie des systèmes et émergence du vivant

Thématique actuellement soutenue par l'Agence Nationale de la Recherche via le projet PeptiSystems (ANR-14-CE33-0020, 2014–2019).

La transition vers le vivant est étudiée par une approche dynamique basée sur l’application des principes physicochimiques. La description Darwinienne de l’évolution peut alors être intégrée à une vision plus globale intégrant les systèmes chimiques hors-équilibre impliquant des réplicateurs ou de l’autocatalyse (chimie de systèmes). Nous étudions les contraintes thermodynamiques gouvernant ces systèmes dissipatifs capables de donner naissance à des propriétés émergentes. Expérimentalement, l’équipe se penche sur la chimie des acides aminés et des peptides avec pour objectif de montrer comment certaines propriétés (l’homochiralité par exemple) peuvent être sélectionnées par les transformations de dérivés riches en énergie (N-carboxyanhydrides d’acides α-aminés ou 5(4H)-oxazolones). Leur interaction avec les nucléotides est susceptible de générer des intermédiaires des mécanismes de biosynthèse ribosomale de peptides.

Mots-clés :

Chimie prébiotique ; Acides α-aminés ; Peptides ; N-Carboxyanhydrides d’acides α-aminés ; 5(4H)-Oxazolones ; Co-évolution peptides–nucléotides ; Émergence de l’homochiralité ; Origine de la vie ; Évolution ; Protométabolisme ; Sources d’énergie ; Stabilité cinétique dynamique ; Complexification.

Personnels impliqués :

Statutaires : Robert Pascal (DR ém. CNRS), Laurent Boiteau (CR CNRS), Jean-Christophe Rossi (MCF UM)
Non-statutaires : (n/a)

Lire la suite…


2. Méthodes de séparation électrocinétiques

Cette thématique de recherche s’intéresse au développement méthodologique des différents modes de l’électrophorèse capillaire (en milieu libre, en gel, en mode micellaire, en isofocalisation électrique, en isotachophorèse, en analyse frontale et en mode bidimensionnel) et de l’analyse de la dispersion de Taylor. Ces recherches sont notamment orientées vers la caractérisation physico-chimique de biopolymères, de polyélectrolytes, de nanoparticules ou de microorganismes (bactéries). Les grandeurs physico-chimiques étudiées sont notamment : la charge effective, le taux de condensation des contre-ions, le rayon hydrodynamique, la masse molaire, l’hydrophobie (log P), le point isoélectrique, la stœchiométrie de complexation et les constantes d’association.

Mots-clés :

Électrophorèse capillaire ; Analyse de la dispersion de Taylor ; Caractérisation physico-chimiques ; (bio)Polymères ; Polyélectrolytes ; Protéines ; Nanoparticules ; Charge effective ; Taux de condensation ; Rayon hydrodynamique ; Mobilité électrophorétique.

Personnels impliqués :

Statutaires : Hervé Cottet (PR UM), Joseph Chamieh (MCF UM), Laurent Leclercq (CR CNRS), Isabelle Desvignes (MCF UM), Jean-Philippe Biron (IE CNRS), Philippe Gonzalez (AI CNRS)
Non-statutaires : Charly Renard (doctorant MESR), Ngoc Phu Cao (doctorant bourse Viêtnam), Mihai Deleanu (doctorant MESR), Camille Malburet (doctorante Sanofi-Pasteur)


3. Étude physico-chimique des complexes polyélectrolytes

Cette thématique de recherche concerne l’étude physico-chimique de la formation des complexes polyélectrolytes et leur utilisation pour des applications dans le domaine biomédical, pharmaceutique ou analytique. Un des objectifs principaux vise à étudier l’influence des paramètres physico-chimiques (pH, force ionique, nature, densité de charge et architecture du polyélectrolyte) sur la formation et les propriétés des complexes polyélectrolytes (taille, charges de surface, stœchiométrie du complexe, sélectivité en masse molaire, force ionique de dissociation). Nous étudions également la relation entre la constante d’association des polyélectrolytes de charges opposées, les caractéristiques physico-chimiques des partenaires en interaction et la force ionique du milieu.

Mots-clés :

Complexes polyélectrolytes ; Coacervats ; Constantes d’association ; Polyplexes ; Physicochimie.

Personnels impliqués :

Statutaires : Laurent Leclercq (CR CNRS), Hervé Cottet (PR UM), Joseph Chamieh (MCF UM), Philippe Gonzalez (AI CNRS)
Non-statutaires : Xiaoling Leclercq (post-doc)


4. Polypeptides synthétiques, chimie biomimétique et supramoléculaire

Cette thématique est centrée sur les peptides et polypeptides et leur (physico)chimie dans l’eau ; récemment associée aux problématiques de reconnaissance moléculaire, elle prolonge et élargit une préoccupation historique de l’équipe, la mise au point de procédés de synthèse à faible impact environnemental. Cette thématique vise l’élaboration de molécules ou macromolécules synthétiques, plus particulièrement des (poly)peptides ramifiés (DGL : dendrigrafts de lysine) ou cycliques, pouvant impliquer des acides aminés non naturels. Via la fonctionnalisation chimique de ces peptides et l’étude de leurs interactions non-covalentes avec des substrats d’intérêt biologique, nous visons des applications comme l’échange d’ions, la séquestration réversible de métaux de transition, l’organocatalyse, la vectorisation de principes actifs, les biosenseurs pour marqueurs de pathologies… D’autres recherches en rapport avec ce thème concernent l’étude de l’efficacité catalytique dans l’eau (catalyse intramoléculaire acido-basique générale).

Mots-clés :

Peptides ; Polypeptides ; Chimie dans l’eau ; Développement durable ; Interactions non-covalentes ; Complexes hôte-invité ; Biosenseurs ; Séquestrants ; Organocatalyse.

Personnels impliqués :

Statutaires : Jean-Christophe Rossi (MCF UM), Robert Pascal (DR ém. CNRS), Laurent Boiteau (CR CNRS)
Non-statutaires : (n/a)